Autoresponder

Autoresponders are a great way to give your customers a timely response even when you’re not in the office. When active, the autoresponder automatically sends a reply to all inbound messages.

An autoresponder can be set to one of two states: 

a) Scheduled - Runs on any schedule, turning itself on and off based on the time slots you’ve set up. This is great for regular intervals, like if your team leaves the office every day at 5 pm.

b) Manual - Will send 24/7 if the response is active. This is great for specific events, like staff meetings where you just need to step away for an hour, or when the person who normally monitors texts is out sick.

Both typically have a cooldown period of 20 minutes.

 

How do you create an autoresponse?

You can create as many autoresponses as you want. Just follow these steps, and repeat as needed:

1. Go to the Autoresponder section under your Settings menu

2. Select Add an Autoresponder

3. Enter a name for your autoresponse (this name is for internal use only, so contacts will not see it)

4. Enter your response (it’s best to keep it under 160 characters since anything over contributes to your usage)

5. Choose for your response to be either Manual or Scheduled

6. If scheduling an autoresponse, choose which times on which days you want it to run

7. Select Save to create your new response

 

When Should You Use an Autoresponse?

Autoresponder acts as your out-of-office text message. If someone texts you while you’re unavailable, the autoresponder sends an instant reply with whatever information you want people to have.

The feature is flexible, and can be used for many reasons. We recommend using it when your team isn’t able to manually respond to messages quickly, such as after business hours, on weekends, and during staff meetings.

How do you delete an autoresponder?

To delete an autoresponse:

1. Go to the Autoresponder section under your Settings menu

2. Select Edit on the response you want to delete

3. Hit the Delete button at the bottom of the screen

4. Select Confirm