Opt-Out Messages

If a contact texts “STOP,” they will be opted out of your messages and you’ll no longer be able to message them from your current text number. Here’s why and how this protects you.

As part of TCPA and CAN-SPAM regulations, all contacts must be able to opt out of—or stop—texts from your business. Contacts also need to be aware that they have the option to do this, which is why we include a STOP message with the first text you send to a contact. 


It reads: 


Text STOP to opt out


This notice is 21 characters long, so it will add 21 characters to your overall message. If you want only one text counted toward your usage, you need to account for this opt out notice by keeping the rest of your message at 139 characters (which our character counter can help with).


This STOP message will only send to a contact one time per text number the first time you text them. We do not recommend texting the same contact from multiple numbers—especially if they have opted out of messages from one number already. It’s confusing for the contact, and can open you up to harassment claims.


Other opt-out keywords that contacts can text are STOP, STOPALL, UNSUBSCRIBE, CANCEL, END, QUIT, and REMOVE. None of these keywords are case sensitive. They are also not included in the original STOP message that appears the first time you send a message, but they will still work. 


If a contact expresses they want to opt out, but doesn’t actually text any of the opt out keywords above, you can suppress them to ensure you don’t accidentally message them again.

Can a contact opt back in after they’ve opted out?


The only way an opted-out contact can receive your messages again is to text in an opt-in keyword. The opt-in keywords are START, YES, and UNSTOP.